Exquisite solitude 

When I was younger I longed for solitude. From my rebellious teenage years all the way into my early 40’s. I thought of the wonderful and exquisite time I could spend just doing and living for me.

 Now it’s here. And I dread the long hours alone and in silence. I try to will the cats and dog to speak back. They don’t.

The work routine brings some movement to my tongue and vocal chords for about 40 hours a week. But that’s a superficial environment. It just enables me to continue the solitude.

What an exquisitely defining moment it is when you realize all you ached for is not what you wanted.
Exquisite

One thought on “Exquisite solitude 

Leave a Reply

